Chocolate Sweet Potato Smoothie

I’ve been in the mood to add a sweet potato to my smoothie for a while.  I know it may sound odd, but the sweet potato gives it a creamy texture.  Plus, it really boosts the amount of vitamin A!  I already have a smoothie recipe that uses sweet potato and I almost made it until I came across this recipe.  It includes chocolate!  Enough said.  Enjoy this smoothie for breakfast or as a post-workout shake!

This recipe was adapted from here:

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup sweet potato (about 1 small)
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 2 medjool dates
  • 1 cup water (or almond milk)
  • 1 tbsp almond butter
  • 1 tbsp carob powder (or cocoa powder)
  • Optional: 1 scoop protein powder

Directions: Combine all ingredients in blender and blend until smooth!

I recommend baking the sweet potato ahead of time and allowing it to cool before making this smoothie.  I made my sweet potato the night before and allowed it to get cold in the fridge.  However, if you don’t have time for that you can always just allow it to cool on the counter after baking and possibly add some ice if you need your smoothie colder.

This recipe makes quite a thick smoothie! I actually ate it with a spoon 🙂

Leave a Reply

