Chocolate Chia Pudding

I love making chocolate pudding with avocado.  I know some people are skeptical thinking there is no way an avocado can taste good with something sweet like chocolate.  Well, it can!  Avocado has such a creamy texture and takes on the chocolate flavor.  However, I understand some people may still be hesitant.  I think you should definitely give it a try before knocking it though.

I have a recipe today though, in case your still not quite sure about the avocado chocolate pudding, but still want a healthy chocolate treat.  I say healthy because this pudding is made with zero additional sugars, only the natural ones from the dates!

Chocolate Chia Pudding

This recipe was adapted from here:

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup almond milk (you can also use water)
  • 2 tbsp chia seeds
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 4 Medjool dates, pitted
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients in a high-powered blender* and blend until smooth and creamy.
  2. Pour into two serving dishes and fridge overnight, or at least 30 minutes before eating.

*A high-powered blender will give you the creamiest texture and make sure to grind those chia seeds completely.  However, any blender will combine all ingredients but you may have more of a tapioca texture with the chia seeds.

I refrigerated my pudding overnight and it was amazing!  I haven’t had a real pudding in YEARS! But this recipe is the closest I have ever come to having that sweet chocolate treat!

One day I’m also going to try using this as a chocolate sauce to swirl into banana ice cream!

Leave a Reply

