Date Paste

Dates are known as nature’s candy.  That is because they are naturally sweet.  Whenever I am craving something sweet, I eat a date.  They are especially good stuffed with a little peanut butter!  Since I have been eating SOS free lately, meaning no sugar, oil, or salt, I have been using date paste as a natural sweetener whenever I bake.  Since dates are a whole food, they are a much healthier alternative to processed sugar.

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound pitted dates
  • 1 cup water

Directions:

  1. Soak dates in liquid overnight or for several hours until most of the liquid is absorbed.
  2. In a food processor, process dates and liquid until completely smooth.

I store the date paste in a mason jar in the freezer where it will last longer and since it doesn’t freeze solid, I can just take it out and use it as soon as I need it.

This recipe yields 2 cups.

I usually make date paste to add in baked goods, but sometimes I’ll spread some date paste on top of an apple.  It tastes like a caramel covered apple! Delicious!

Leave a Reply

