Chocolate PB Date Shake

I haven’t posted in a while!  Since it had been so hot at the end of the summer, the only foods I really wanted were fruits and smoothies.  And I have been eating a ton of fruits and a ton of smoothies! Oh, and a TON of banana ice cream! (Try it with 1/2 tbsp of carob powder!)  These were usually breakfasts and lunches.  Dinners would be whatever my mom made and saved me to try.  So I haven’t really done any cooking or baking myself.

Most of my smoothies have been somewhat the same.  All of them include bananas!  Then sometimes I’ll also add an apple, an orange, strawberries, pineapples, peaches, or watermelon.  Sometimes peanut or almond butter.  I’ve also been including dates a lot!  And usually all of my smoothies include a large handful of greens!  If you can’t taste them, you might as well add in some extra nutrition!

When I came across this recipe on the internet, I knew I had to make it!  I mean, it includes ALL my recent favorite foods that I eat at least once a day – bananas, dates, and almond butter!

 

This recipe was adapted from here:

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup almond milk*
  • 3 frozen bananas
  • 3 medjool dates
  • 1 tbsp carob powder
  • 1 tsp almond butter
  • Optionals: greens and maca powder

Directions:  Combine all ingredients in a high-powered blender and blend until smooth and creamy.

*Add more or less milk depending on how thick or thin you want your shake.

I added the greens to mine, but unfortunately this will make it a less appealing brown color.  (This is why there is no picture.) But just because the smoothie isn’t pretty, doesn’t mean it tastes bad.  This shake is delicious!  I also added maca powder to mine for an extra boost of energy!

In the original smoothie, she uses peanut butter instead of almond butter (you can use any kind of nut butter you like) and she doesn’t blend it in but rather serves it on top.  I like it blended in, but you can do whichever you prefer.

 

This smoothie is great for breakfast!  It has tons of healthy ingredients to keep you full and satisfied.  The only sugar comes from the natural sugars found in bananas and dates.  That’s the good kinds of sugar that won’t cause you to crash in about an hour, but will keep your energy up all morning!

I hope you enjoy this as much as I did.  I think it is going to become my staple breakfast smoothie for quite a while 🙂

Leave a Reply

