Watermelon Smoothie Bowl

I have been wanting to try this smoothie for a while.  I never thought about adding frozen watermelon to my smoothies until I came across this recipe.  Wow, I wish I had done this sooner!  Frozen watermelon in smoothies is amazing!  It adds a creamy coldness without the use of ice cubes.  Perfect for these hot summer days!

Watermelon Smoothie Bowl 2

This recipe was adapted from here:

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cup frozen watermelon cubes
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup – 3/4 cup almond milk (depending on the desired thickness of your smoothie)
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder (I used Vega) (Can be omitted)

Directions:  Combine all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.

Watermelon Smoothie Bowl

I used less almond milk to make a really thick smoothie so I could eat it like ice cream.  I even topped my smoothie bowl with granola.  This would also be great topped with hemp seeds, banana slices, nuts, etc.

Leave a Reply

