Raspberry Chocolate Lava Cake

I love lava cakes!  However, it is very hard to find a vegan, gluten free version to buy.  In fact, I don’t think I have yet come across one.  I’ve looked for recipes online, but either they don’t come out right (over or under baked) or the filling doesn’t really taste right.  When I saw that this recipe used jam as the filling, I figured why not try it – it sure sounded tasty.  I’m glad I gave it a shot, the texture of the cake was perfect and the jam filling was perfect!

Chocolate Raspberry Mugcake

This recipe was adapted from Chocolate Covered Katie:

Ingredients:

  • 3 tbsp buckwheat flour
  • 1 tbsp carob or cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp coconut sugar
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3-4 tbsp almond milk (depending on flour, start with smaller amount)
  • 1/2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 tbsp raspberry jam
  • 1/2 tbsp chocolate chips (optional)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F and grease 1 cup ramekin or mug.
  2. Combine buckwheat flour, carob powder, coconut sugar, salt, and baking powder in a bowl and stir.
  3. Add vanilla extract, almond milk, and coconut oil and stir to combine.
  4. Spoon half the batter into prepared ramekin or mug.
  5. Add raspberry jam and chocolate chips, if desired, in the middle.
  6. Spoon the rest of the batter on top.
  7. Bake for 15-20 minutes.  (Alternatively you can microwave this, but I’m not sure how long based on these ingredients and it will probably come out more gooey than cakey.)
  8. Remove from oven and top with additional chocolate chips if desired. (Or put them in during the last minute of cooking so they really melt!)
  9. Allow to cool before eating!

Just came out of the oven!

Chocolate Raspberry Mugcake 3

Feel free to play around with the filling.  Use a different flavor of jam, use fresh mashed fruits, use banana, applesauce, peanut butter, or pure chocolate.  Or try a combination!  Can you imagine peanut butter and jelly?  Peanut butter and banana!? Peanut butter and chocolate!?  Peanut butter, chocolate, and banana!?!?

The first time I made this I added chocolate chips on top!
(I tried to get a pic so you could see the inside, but it didn’t really work)

Chocolate Raspberry Mugcake 5

The second time I made this I topped it with peanut butter frosting.
(1 tbsp peanut flour mixed with 1/2 tbsp almond milk, and a dash of stevia and sea salt)

Chocolate Raspberry Mugcake 6

Here’s a better pic of the inside of the cake with peanut butter frosting.
(Still difficult to see the jam though)

Chocolate Raspberry Mugcake 7

This was so good!  I think I have a few more versions of this lava cake to try out…better get baking 🙂

Leave a Reply

