Tropical Crush Smoothie

I am participating in this Green Smoothie Challenge from Simple Green Smoothies.  They have a lot of really good smoothies posted on their page and when I saw that they had a smoothie a day challenge (four times a year) and that one would be starting shortly, I knew I needed to sign up!  Especially since it is free!  I thought it would be a good way for me to try new smoothie recipes with different types of fruit than I usually use.  I also like that they send out a list of all the items that you will need for that weeks smoothie.  It makes shopping for the ingredients very easy.  Also, they only give 5 smoothie recipes for the week so that you can remake your favorites the other two days, try a different one from their website, or try a different one from somewhere else.

I was planning on trying a different one on their website for the 6th day of the challenge, but I loved this Tropical Crush Smoothie so much that I decided to make it again.

Tropical Crush Smoothie

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1 orange
  • 1 cup pineapple
  • 1 frozen banana

Directions: Combine all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.

This recipe makes 2 servings.

If your are used to drinking green smoothies, you can increase the spinach (I did).  You can also try adding different types of greens. You can also add other ingredients to your smoothie for more nutrients.  Like protein powder, chia seeds, flax seeds, maca powder, coconut oil, etc.  I added 1/2 scoop of protein powder and a tsp of maca to get more nutrients in my smoothie (my typical additional ingredients).

Update: I was about to post a new smoothie recipe and realized what I created was pretty much the same thing as this smoothie.  It had all the same ingredients, just different portions of each.  I thought I would include the new portions here because I enjoyed the smoothie so much!  Lately, I have been adding extra banana in my smoothies which is the biggest change here.  If you love bananas as much as I do, definitely give this updated version a try!  If your not as crazy about bananas, stick to the original recipe above.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 2 bananas
  • 3 clementines
  • 1 cup pineapple
  • handful of spinach

Banana Orange Pineapple

Leave a Reply

