Creamy PB&J Oatmeal

Today’s post should be the Buckeye Pie that I made for Christmas dinner, and it was absolutely delicious and very rich, but I found another version online that is very similar, yet slightly healthier.  So I want to try that version as well and then post my favorite recipe so that I can make it again to my liking.

Even though I am not posting the Buckeye Pie, today’s recipe will still feature the secret ingredient from the buckeye pie – silken tofu!  Lately I have been making a lot of chocolate pies that require silken tofu and then I have extra tofu that needs to be used within 3-5 days.  Sometimes I would make a smoothie with the leftover tofu which would make it super creamy!  But then I had a genius idea!  What if I added some silken tofu to oatmeal!?  Silken tofu is supposed to make super creamy smoothies and desserts (like mousse and puddings) so why couldn’t it be added to make creamy oatmeal!?  After giving it a few tries, I knew I must post this recipe.

Creamy PBJ Oats

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup flax milk
  • 1/2 cup GF rolled oats
  • 3 oz silken tofu
  • 1 tbsp ground flaxseeds
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • 5 -8 strawberries (or 1 tbsp strawberry jam)
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter
  • 5 drops vanilla stevia (or other sweetener)

Directions:

  1. Add all ingredients in a blender and blend until desired texture.
  2. Pour into a mason jar and allow to sit for at least one hour or overnight.
  3. Top with banana slices and crushed peanuts, if desired.  This can be eaten hot or cold.

Creamy PBJ Oats 3

Not only does silken tofu make this oatmeal super creamy, but it adds a nice bit of protein!  I want to try some other variations as well.  Like Peanut Butter and Banana – add 1/2 mashed banana instead of the strawberries.  Or may try other fruits blended in and added as a topping.  There are SO many possibilities!

Creamy PBJ Oats 2

This recipe (without toppings) yields approximately 405 calories and 16.5g protein.

Leave a Reply

