Tortilla Pizza

I love making pizza!  Unfortunately, it is extremely hard to find a gluten free and vegan pizza crust unless I want to spend like $7 on a pre-made pizza.  Yes, a pre-made pizza is easy, all you have to do is stick it in the oven and bake it, but then I don’t get to choose what ingredients to top my pizza with. Plus, like I said, $7! for a pizza! And it isn’t even that big, 2 people could share it as a light dinner.

Usually, I make socca pizza, but it can take some time to mix, bake, and bake again with the toppings.  Fortunately, I came across a recipe that uses a tortilla as the base of the pizza crust.  I’m not the biggest fan of a very thin crust, but of course that is the type of crust a tortilla is going to provide.  However, I loved how quick and easy it was to make this pizza.  And actually, the crispy tortilla was not bad at all – kind of like a tortilla chip with pizza flavor!

Tortilla Pizza

This recipe was adapted from here:

Ingredients:

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.  Spray pizza pan with non-stick spray and place tortilla on the pan.
  2. Mix together the tomato paste and all the spices.  Alternatively, you could use store-bought pizza sauce.
  3. Spread the sauce on top of the tortilla.
  4. Top with cheese and any toppings you choose.
  5. Bake for 15 minutes.
  6. Allow to cool before slicing.

Tortilla Pizza 2

My pizza topped with spinach, olives, and chickpeas!

This pizza was so easy and tasty.  I will definitely be making this again when I want a quick pizza!

Tortilla Pizza 3

This pizza looked so good, I couldn’t wait to eat it!

One response

  1. I make a stuffed crust pizza with brown rice tortillas. Two tortillas with blended tofu and nutritional yeast and spices between them, then topped with whatever you like.

Leave a Reply

