Coconut Chickpea Rice

I can’t believe I haven’t posted an entree recipe in over a month!  This summer I have been all about eating lightly – smoothies, salads, oats, simple sandwiches, fruits and veggies, and just snacking.  Soon it will be cooler weather and I’ll most likely cook more actual meals.  Plus, there are so many new recipes (as well as delicious old ones I want to remake) that I want to try that I really need to start cooking them so my list gets shorter!  I think I might have to start cooking dinner on Sunday’s again!  It is always the easiest day for me to cook a big meal since it is not in the middle of the work/school week and Sunday’s are a good day just to veg out at home.

I have been loving coconut all summer long.  When I saw this recipe for coconut rice with chickpeas and broccoli, I knew the combination would taste amazing!  This recipe almost reminded me the same taste of creamy broccoli soup, except this is a rice dish and obviously dairy free!

Coconut Chickpea Rice

This recipe was adapted from here:

Ingredients:

  • 2 13.5 oz can light coconut milk
  • 2 15 oz can chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 6 cups broccoli florets, chopped
  • 1 cup roasted cashews, chopped
  • 2 tsp garlic
  • 1.5 tsp ginger
  • 1 tsp salt
  • dash of pepper
  • dash of paprika
  • 2.5 cups cooked brown rice

Directions:

  1. Heat olive oil in a pot over medium high heat.  Add onion and broccoli and stir for approximately 5 minutes, until onions begins to soften.
  2. Add chickpeas and stir for another minute.
  3. Pour in coconut milk and all the spices and simmer for approximately 20 minutes.
  4. Add cashews and brown rice and stir.  Let sit for 5-10 minutes before serving.

Coconut Chickpea Rice 3

The original recipe calls for curry, but I did not have that spice and my mom does not like curry and I wanted this to be enjoyed by the whole family so I decided to omit it.  If I did have curry, I probably would have added a little to my own bowl though.  I also changed some of the spices.  I added extra garlic, some pepper, and paprika.  Feel free to adjust the seasonings to your own taste buds.  A third thing I changed from the original recipe is I added extra brown rice.  After I allowed it to simmer for 20 minutes, it was still quite liquidy so I added extra brown rice to help soak it up.  It came out fantastic!  The above recipe reflects the changes I made to the original.

I also doubled this recipe so that there would be enough to feed a family of four.  We had a small bowl of leftovers which actually worked out perfectly because I had lunch ready for the next day and it still tasted great!

Coconut Chickpea Rice 2

Sorry these aren’t the prettiest pictures.  I forgot to take a picture the night I made this meal so these are pictures of a second helping of leftovers.  Yeah, they were that good 😛

Leave a Reply

