Cookie Dough

Yesterday for the 4th of July, I decided to end the day with a sweet treat perfect for a hot day.  I made banana soft serve!  I’ve made this before and it is super easy.  Just blend 1 1/2 frozen bananas with a splash of almond milk (if needed), until creamy.  Then, I usually will add in a tablespoon of almond butter.  This time, I wanted to try something different.  I made a Cookie Dough Soft Serve (aka Blizzard).  What made the blizzard was the amazing cookie dough!  After I made my blizzard, I had plenty of cookie dough balls left over.  I have been snacking on these all day and I definitely want to make more just to eat straight out of the fridge!  Today I am posting the recipe for the cookie dough!

Cookie Dough 2

This recipe was adapted from Oh She Glows:

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup unsalted cashews
  • 1/4 cup GF rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup sorghum flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1.5 tbsp raw sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup mini chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. In a food processor, add cashews and oats and blend until it turns into a fine crumble (almost flour-like).
  2. Add in flour, salt, and sugar and give a few pulses to combine.
  3. Add the vanilla and maple syrup and blend until well combined.
  4. Stir in the chocolate chips. (The mixture will be very sticky.)
  5. With your hands form small balls.
  6. Store in a closed container in the fridge.

I was able to form about 22 balls.  A few balls never made it to the container though as I ate them during the rolling process. However, I recommend trying to use use some patience and eat them after they are cold.  They taste SO much better cold.  Freeze them if you have to so they will get cold faster!

Cookie Dough

These taste incredibly like real cookie dough.  Raw cookie dough was always my favorite and the best thing about this vegan recipe is you can eat them without the worry of getting salmonella.

Enjoy these straight from the fridge, blend them into banana soft serve, crumble them on top of other vegan ice cream, yogurt, oats, etc.  The possibilities are endless!

Based on making 22 balls, each ball yields approximately 50 calories and 1g protein.

One response

Leave a Reply

