Chocolate Coconut Crust

For my birthday last Wednesday, June 5th, I decided to try a new pie recipe.  I basically made Chocolate Covered Katie’s Oreo Cookie pie.  I didn’t have a chance to get to the store to buy gluten free oreos, so I just used 6 chocolate chip and double chocolate cookies I had in the pantry.  It was very tasty and especially with this crust I made.  The chocolate and coconut flavors went great with the cashew cookie pie!

Chocolate Coconut Crust

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup almonds
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 15 dates
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil, melted

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 325F and grease a pie pan with non-stick spray.
  2. In a food processor, grind almonds into a powder.
  3. Add rolled oats and cocoa powder and blend until broken down.
  4. Add dates and coconut oil and continue to blend until everything is mixed together.
  5. Transfer crust to the prepared pie pan.  Press crust down evenly and firmly along the bottom and sides to create crust.
  6. Bake for 15 minutes.  Allow to cool before filling with your favorite pie recipe.

You might have extra crust.  I probably had enough to make a whole other pie.  If you want you can half the recipe above or do what I did and save the extra “crust” as a crumbly topping for yogurt bowls!  I love chocolate and coconut flavors together!

Also, this crust is very crumbly and I found it is best with a no-bake pie.  Since the pie recipe I used stays in the fridge, it helped the crust stay firm when eaten.

Chocoalte Coconut Crust 2

Leave a Reply

