Apple Banana Energy Smoothie

I eat at least one banana and one apple every. single. day.  Since I also drink a smoothie almost every single day, I thought these two fruits would pair so well together in a creamy smoothie with some superfoods for health, energy, and protein.

Apple Banana Energy Smoothie 2

In this smoothie I use maca powder.  This is a new product that I have been taking daily.  I usually mix it in to smoothies or oatmeal.

What is maca?  It is a root that is grown in the Andes mountains of Peru and is packed full of nutrition.

What are the benefits of maca? 

  • Full of minerals and vitamins
  • Increases energy, stamina, and endurance
  • Reduces stress
  • Enhances libido
  • Regulates hormones

I actually began using it because I heard it could help balance hormones.  I’ve only been using it for about a week so I haven’t been able to see if it has been helping yet.  One thing I have noticed though, is the great boost of energy!  I also love all the nutrients that I get from taking maca; tons of vitamins (like B-12), minerals, enzymes, and all the essential amino acids.

You can buy two different forms of maca: raw or gelatinized (which is a little more expensive) but I bought the gelatinized because I heard it is easier to digest than the raw maca.  Considering I have a very sensitive stomach, I thought it would be worth the few extra dollars.  To read more about maca and its benefits click here.

Even if you don’t have maca powder, you can still make this delicious smoothie:

Ingredients:

  • 1 apple, peeled and chopped
  • 1/2 banana, frozen
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder (I used Sunwarrior) (Can be omitted)
  • 1 tsp maca powder (Can be omitted)

Directions: Combine all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.

If you want a thicker smoothie add a whole frozen banana and/or decrease almond milk to 1/2 cup.  You can also add 1/2 cup ice cubes if you want an icier smoothie.

If you don’t have maca powder, you can omit it.  Maybe add in some other superfood like hemp hearts (these would even be great as a topping), flax seeds, chia seeds, almonds, or even spinach for a green smoothie!

And if you are interested in buying maca, you can purchase it at iherb with my code LWZ362 for a discount on your first purchase!

Apple Banana Energy Smoothie

This recipe yields approximately 300 calories and 10.5g protein.

Leave a Reply

