Banana Bread Oatmeal

I absolutely love bananas in my oatmeal for breakfast.  No matter what I mix into the oatmeal, there is always at least 1/2 a banana.  I’ve tried several different combinations with banana oatmeal like peanut butter (the best!), almond yogurt, vanilla protein powder, a combination of all three of those with the banana oatmeal, sometimes I even add in chia, flax, and/or hemp seeds, or different nuts and seeds like peanuts, almonds, walnuts, or pepitas, and other times I’ll add different fruits like strawberries or apples.  But the one thing that stays the same is there is always that banana.  It just adds the perfect sweetness, the perfect nutrition, and adds more volume to the oats.

Last night I knew I wanted to have oatmeal in the morning (I always prepare my oats overnight so that it is ready to go in the morning and the oats can really soak in the almond milk) but I wanted to try a new way to have oatmeal with a banana.  I went on Google to get some ideas and came across a recipe that sounded amazing.  The original recipe used steel-cut oats and blended them up so they wouldn’t take as long to cook.  However, I didn’t have steel-cut oats so I was just going to make it with rolled oats…but then I wondered what it would be like if I blended the rolled oats first.  Let’s just say I think from now on ALL my oatmeal bowls will not only include a banana, but the oats will be blended too!

Banana Bread Oatmeal 2

The original recipe uses steel-cut oats and makes 3 servings.  I adapted the recipe with rolled oats and found the perfect combination to make a one serving breakfast!  This recipe was adapted from Oh She Glows:

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup GF rolled oats
  • 1/2 tbsp chia seeds
  • 3/4 cup almond milk*
  • 1/2 tbsp + 1 tsp maple syrup
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • dash of sea salt
  • dash of cinnamon
  • dash of nutmeg
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • 1/2 sliced banana
  • 1 tbsp walnuts

Directions:

  1. In a small food processor, blend oats and chia seeds into a flour for about 10 seconds or until desired texture.  (Can be omitted if you would rather whole oats.)
  2. Pour oats and chia seeds into a bowl.  Add all other ingredients except the banana and walnuts.
  3. Place in the refrigerator overnight. (This allows the oats to soak up all the flavor  and increase in volume.)
  4. The next morning stir in mashed banana.  Top with the sliced banana, walnuts, more cinnamon and/or nutmeg, if desired, and an extra drizzle of maple syrup, if desired.  This breakfast can be eaten cold or heated in the microwave for about 1 minute.  (I love warm banana bread so I knew I would like this oatmeal hot!)

*I like thick oatmeal and this oatmeal was extremely thick.  If you would prefer a less thick oatmeal you can add 1 cup almond milk instead of 3/4 cup.  Or just add extra almond milk in the morning to thin it out if the oatmeal is too thick for your liking after soaking in the oats all night.

This oatmeal recipe tastes just like banana bread!  In the morning I heated my oatmeal before mixing in the 1/2 mashed banana for easier mixing.  I then topped it with the other 1/2 of the banana, walnuts, extra cinnamon, extra nutmeg, and extra maple syrup.  I really had a sweet tooth this morning!

Oh, and one more note.  The original recipe also calls for raisins.  I didn’t have any, but when I buy some more I’ll definitely add a few to the oatmeal, I’m sure they would be delicious!

Banana Bread Oatmeal

Based on using Trader Joe’s GF Rolled Oats and original Silk PureAlmond Milk, this recipe yields approximately 405 calories and 11g protein.

Leave a Reply

