Banana Quinoa Porridge

Over the winter months, I eat oatmeal for breakfast almost every single morning. I love a warm bowl of oatmeal to start my morning when I wake up freezing! During the summer months, I still eat a good amount of oatmeal for breakfast, but it is usually eaten cold. However, sometimes I like to change it up and use a different grain.

For this breakfast, I decided to use quinoa. Quinoa is a great breakfast grain because it is high in protein and, similar to oatmeal, it tastes great whether eaten hot or cold. And even though I changed up the main grain for my breakfast, I still left in my favorite fruit…banana! Almost all of my oatmeal recipes I mash in at least half a banana for sweetness, extra creaminess, and extra volume!

Banana Quinoa Porridge 3

This recipe was adapted from here:

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup dry quinoa
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • 2 tbsp chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp sea salt

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients in a medium-sized pan.
  2. Bring to a boil, covered.
  3. Once boiling, reduce heat and allow to simmer, covered, for about 15 minutes or until all liquid has been absorbed, stirring occasionally.
  4. Pour into a bowl, top with the rest of the banana, sliced, and additional walnuts, if desired.

Banana Quinoa Porridge 2

The original recipe also calls for raisins, which I didn’t add to my breakfast but I’m sure would taste great!  Also, the original recipe uses half almond milk and half water.  I used all almond milk because I wanted this breakfast as creamy as possible.  You can do whatever works best for you, as long as you double the amount of liquid for the amount of quinoa.  I also only made this for myself so I only wanted one serving, but you can easily double this recipe for more than one person or if want to make extra so you have breakfast for yourself two days in a row!

Banana Quinoa Porridge

This recipe, with the other 1/2 sliced banana topping, yields approximately 435 calories and 9g protein.

Leave a Reply

