Sweet Potato Fiesta Bowl

Happy Cinco de Mayo!

In honor of this holiday, I thought I would post my recipe for one of my favorite meals when I am in the mood for Mexican food.

Sweet Potato Fiesta Bowl

Ingredients:

  • 1 small baked sweet potato, peeled
  • 1/2 cup black beans
  • 1/3 cup sweet corn
  • 1/4 diced avocado
  • 1/4 cup salsa

Directions:

  1. In a bowl, chop or mash the sweet potato.
  2. Add black beans, corn, avocado, and salsa on top of sweet potato.
  3. Warm in the microwave, if desired, and enjoy!

Sweet Potato Fiesta Bowl 2

This is a very simple meal and it is one of my favorites!  I eat this a lot since it is so easy to make.  I don’t really measure out how much of everything I use, but I am guessing this is about how much of each ingredient I use each time I make this meal.  Of course, you can add more of any ingredient you like the most and less of others, add different vegetables or beans (I’ve used chickpeas before!), you can even add some plain greek yogurt on top as a substitute for sour cream (I recommend So Delicious Greek Almond Yogurt).

After I add everything in a bowl, I mix it all together.  After mixing it all together, it doesn’t look as pretty but it definitely tastes great!

Sweet Potato, Corn, Salsa, Avo, Beans

I added plain greek yogurt to this bowl!

Sweet Potato Fiesta Bowl 2

Yeah, much better looking before it is mixed all together!

Another option is to turn this into a wrap! Omit the sweet potato and use a brown rice tortilla to wrap all the ingredients together.  Simply mix the black beans, salsa, and corn in a bowl; spoon the mixture onto a tortilla; top with sliced avocado; and wrap it all together!

Black Bean Corn Avo Salsa Wrap

Leave a Reply

