Lentil Sloppy Joes

Sloppy Joes are a great meal when I’m in the mood for something savory!  They are also perfect when I’m in the mood to do a little more cooking than just tossing some veggies and beans over brown rice, or in a brown rice tortilla wrap (which has literally become my dinner like 5 days a week for the last few weeks.)

This past weekend I was in a cooking mood and decided to make some Sloppy Joes.  In the past, I made these TVP Sloppy Joes but I’ve been trying to limit my intake of soy and I remember reading about using lentils instead.   I changed a lot of ingredients to suit my own (and my family’s) tastebuds and the meal turned out incredible.  I immediately knew I would have to post this recipe so I could make this meal again!

Lentil Sloppy Joes 2

This recipe was adapted from Chocolate Covered Katie:

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cup dry lentils
  • 3 cups water
  • 1/2 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 small onion, chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 14 oz can tomato sauce
  • 1 tbsp ketchup
  • 1 tbsp Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 2 tbsp tamari
  • 4 tsp raw sugar
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Directions:

  1. In a large pot, add water and lentils and bring to a boil.  When water begins to boil, lower temperature and allow lentils to simmer for about 40 minutes.  (You may need to add about 1/4 cup water if most of the water becomes absorbed before the lentils are done cooking.)
  2. Meanwhile, chop the bell pepper, onion, and garlic.  (I just added everything to a food processor and pulsed a few times.)
  3. When the lentils are almost soft, after about 40 minutes, add the bell pepper, onion, and garlic.  Cook an additional 5 minutes.
  4. Add all other ingredients and continue to simmer over low heat until thick.  About 10-15 minutes.  Allow to cool slightly before serving on top of a bun!Lentil Sloppy Joes

You can also add additional toppings if you want.  I bet these would be amazing with slices of avocado!

There are a lot of ingredients to this meal, but there is very minimal chopping (especially if you use a food processor like I did), and most of the spices that need to be measured out use the same measuring spoon so there is very little clean up.

Sloppy Joe Wrap

Sloppy Joe Wrap with spinach!

 

This recipe makes about 8 servings.
One serving (without bread or other additional toppings) yields approximately 93 calories and 7g protein.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

