Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake

This Chocolate Chip Cookie Cake was like eating a huge soft chocolate chip cookie in cake form.

Cookie Cake 3

Even though this is a sweet dessert recipe, it has a healthy secret ingredient…chickpeas!  But trust me, unless you were told there are beans in this recipe, no one would ever guess.

Cookie Cake 4

I adapted the original recipe quite a bit.  Instead of using oil, I used a mashed banana.  Since banana gives natural sweetness I cut back on the amount of sugar.  I also cut back on the chocolate chips, but you can use however many chocolate chips you want!  I cut back on a lot of the sugar because I eat so clean that too much sugar is too sweet for me so I recommend checking out the original recipe too and adapting the sugar to your taste buds. I found the amount of sugar and chocolate chips I used in my adapted recipe to be perfect for me.

Cookie Cake

This recipe was adapted from Chocolate Covered Katie:

Ingredients:

  • 2 15oz cans chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 cup GF rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup coconut sugar
  • 3/4 cup chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F and grease a 10-inch springform pan with non-stick spray.
  2. Place oats in a food processor and pulse a few times.  Alternatively, you can use quick oats.Combine all ingredients, except chocolate chips, in a food processor and blend until well combined. (You may need to do this in batches if you have a smaller food processor. I had to mix mine in two batches.)
  3. With a wooden spoon, stir in chocolate chips.
  4. Pour batter into prepared pan and bake for about 40-45 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.
  5. Once it is finished baking, allow to cool for 10 minutes, then remove the cake from the pan and place on a wire rack until completely cool.

Cookie Cake 5

This cake is best eaten warm, either right from the oven or slightly warmed in the microwave.

If you love giant, soft chocolate chip cookies, you will love this dessert.  I can’t wait to make this tasty treat again!  And since it is such a simple recipe with very minimal cleaning, I will definitely be making this dessert A LOT!  Plus, it is a dessert you can eat guilt-free since it contains those healthy chickpeas!

Cookie Cake 2

Based on slicing this cake into 8 pieces, each piece yields approximately 279 calories and 8.5g protein.

Leave a Reply

