Banana Berry Yogurt Smoothie

I have been trying to drink more smoothies lately to increase my nutrition: protein, calories, nutrients, fruits, veggies, etc.  This smoothie, however, does not contain any veggies.  I usually love green smoothies but I was really in the mood for something sweet.  I enjoyed this as a morning snack which is interesting since I have noticed I have a much bigger sweet tooth in the morning and more savory cravings in the evenings.

Banana Berry Yogurt Smoothie 3

Banana Berry Yogurt Smoothie:

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup non-dairy yogurt (I used So Delicious*)
  • 1 cup frozen berries (I used mixed berries)
  • 1 tbsp ground flax seeds (Can be omitted)
Directions: In a blender combine all ingredients and process until smooth and creamy.This smoothie makes 1 large serving!

*Usually I have individual containers of So Delicious brand Greek style plain yogurt.  I love having this because I never know if I just want to eat yogurt as a snack with some fruit or mixed into smoothies or oatmeal.  I can easily just use one or half of one of these containers without worrying about the yogurt going bad.  Sometimes I use this unsweetened one which is better for only smoothies or oatmeal since it gets natural sweetness from the other ingredients and doesn’t need the extra sugar.  It is also great since it comes in a big container and is more cost efficient.  However, once it is open you need to use it relatively quickly.

You could also use a flavored yogurt for a different flavor smoothie!  And if you want a smoothie with more protein, you can add some protein powder or I’m sure nut butter would taste amazing in this smoothie, kind of like a peanut butter and jelly!

 

Based on using original PureAlmond Milk, So Delicious Greek plain yogurt, and Bob’s Red Mill Ground Flaxseed Meal, this smoothie yields approximately 275 calories and 4g protein.
With So Delicious Unsweetened yogurt, this smoothie yields approximately 240 calories and 3g protein.
Leave a Reply

